TTXGP North America Wraps Up With Lightning Taking the Championship

2010 TTXGP Winner

In brief: The TTXGP North America championship electric motorcycle season ended with Michael Barnes of Lightning Motors taking the trophy after pulling the checkered flag at the last of this year's races.

The word

2010 TTXGP Champ Michael Barnes

Barnes grabbed the lead early in the race and held it all the way through. The second through fifth place spots, however, were up in the air right to the end.

Barnes has dominated in the series, pulling wins in 3 of 5 races this season. Second placer Zoe Rem (Team Agni) and third place winner Thad Wolff (Team Electra) aren't newcomers to the winner's circle either. Rem took the finish despite having a motor failure (the Agni bike has two) and recovering nicely with an unintended contact with Wolff's bike halfway through the race.

Eyes now turn to the UK and Italian races, with the UK having two to go and the Italian season beginning next month.

And so ...

The final TTXGP will be held in Spain at the end of October.

Photo credits: David Herron

This site follows the emergence, application and development of transportation innovation. Reference to manufacturers, makes and models, and other automotive-related businesses are provided for informational purposes only and do not constitute an endorsement by