var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-35554880-2']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

Lightning Motors Takes 2nd Round of TTXGP

Breaking News

TTXGP eGrandPrix Series 2 win

In brief: Lightning Motors' Michael Barnes on Bike #80 took the flag at the second round of the all-electric TTXGP motorcycle race in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.

The word

TTXGP Race 2 win

The Lightning bike is powered by A123 Systems lithium batteries and a motor rescued from an EV1.

The second place winner was Angi Motors' Zoe Rem, a reverse of the first race's results.

The Lightning bike definitely liked the longer straightaways the Elkhart track offers compared to the last race's more curvy Infineon. Lightning's Barnes finished a full 57 seconds ahead of the second placer.

And so ...

These electric races feature two things unusual to the sport: a higher proportion of female racers and machines with very different configurations and capabilities.

Photo credits: David Herron

This site follows the emergence, application and development of transportation innovation. Reference to manufacturers, makes and models, and other automotive-related businesses are provided for informational purposes only and do not constitute an endorsement by