First Series Shakedown Results Announced for X Prize Competition

Enerva Honda Insight Conversion

In brief: The first of three events in which competitors in the Progressive Automotive X Prize competition face being cut from the contest if they don't succeed has finished, with most teams making it to the next level.

The word

Enerva Converted Honda Insight, eliminated in the ShakedownThis first in a series of three Shakedown competitions involved a variety of safety, efficiency, and performance evaluations. 22 (of 24) participants made it through this phase and will be returning for the Knockout stage on June 20.

In the Mainstream Class (4+ passengers, 4+ wheels, 200+ mile range), four vehicles were eliminated while the rest stay on board for the next phase:

• American HyPower, Centennial, Colorado (Gasoline, Hydrogen)
• BITW Technologies, Palmyra, Indiana (Biodiesel)
• Edison2, Lynchburg, Virginia (E85)
• Liberty Motors Group, Botkins, Ohio (Gasoline)
• West Philly Hybrid X (EVX), Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Gasoline)

Conditional pass:
• Cornell 100+ MPG Team, Ithaca, New York (Biodiesel)
• Illuminati Motor Works, Virden, Illinois (Electric)

Probationary pass:
• Enginer, Troy, Michigan (Gasoline + Steam)
• Global-E, Mandeville, Louisiana (Gasoline & Electric)

• APET-X, Hong Kong, China (Electric)
• Envera, Mill Valley, California (Gasoline)
• Team FourSight, Morgantown, West Virginia (Biodiesel)
• WIKISPEED, Seattle, Washington (Gasoline)

In the Alternative Class (2+ passengers, 100+ mile range), two were eliminated, both in the Tandem seating sub-class:

Side-by-side seating:

• amp, Blue Ash, Ohio (Electric)
• Aptera Motors, Vista, California (Electric)
• Edison2, Lynchburg, Virginia (E85)
• OptaMotive, San Jose, California (Electric)
• RaceAbout Association, Helsinki, Finland (Electric)
• Tata Motors Limited, Coventry, United Kingdom (Electric)
• Team EVX, Dallas, Texas (Electric)
• West Philly Hybrid X (EVX), Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Biodiesel)
• ZAP, Santa Rosa, California (Electric)

Conditional pass:
• Team EVI, Mooresville, North Carolina (Electric)

Probationary pass:
• Western Washington University, Bellingham, Washington (Gasoline)

Tandem seating:

• Edison2, Lynchburg, Virginia (E85)
• Spira, Banglamung, Chonburi, Thailand (Gasoline)
• Tango (Commuter Cars), Spokane, Washington (Electric)
• X-Tracer Team Switzerland, Uster, Switzerland (Electric)

Conditional pass:
• FVT Racing, Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada (Gasoline)

Deferred for later testing June 16-18, due to Volcano-related travel delays:
• K-Way MOTUS, Turin, Italy (Gasoline)
• TW4XP, Rosenthal, Germany (Electric)

• Envera, Mill Valley, California (Gasoline)
• Team FourSight, Morgantown, West Virginia (Electric)

And so ...

Great stuff so far. Can't wait for the winner later this summer!

Photo credits: Progressive Automotive X Prize

This site follows the emergence, application and development of transportation innovation. Reference to manufacturers, makes and models, and other automotive-related businesses are provided for informational purposes only and do not constitute an endorsement by