EPA Finalizes 2011 Renewable Fuel Standards

US EPA logo
In brief: The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has finalized percentage standards for renewable fuels in 2011.

The word

EPA logoThe standards are for four categories of fuel: cellulosic, biomass, advanced biofuel, and renewable fuel. These are standardized for 2011 under the agency's Renewable Fuels Standards (RFS2) program.

These volumes of fuel are the amount to be produced and given grants or credits under the program. Percentages are percentage of renewable compared to total market for the fuel.

The RFS2 for 2011 are:

  • Cellulosic biofuel: 6.6 million gallons, 0.003%
  • Biomass-based diesel: 800 million gallons, 0.69%
  • Advanced biofuel: 1.35 billion gallons, 0.78%
  • Renewable fuel: 13.95 billion gallons, 8.01%

And so ...

Other rule changes for the industry are also included in the updates made.

Photo credits: EPA

This site follows the emergence, application and development of transportation innovation. Reference to manufacturers, makes and models, and other automotive-related businesses are provided for informational purposes only and do not constitute an endorsement by FutureCars.com.